Thorin’s resurrection hope

For those who don’t know how The Hobbit ends, and don’t want the end of the last film to be spoiled, this would be a good post to skip. I’ll be blogging a few thoughts from The Hobbit for the whole of this week, as I’ve just finished reading it, so you might want to check back next Monday. For the rest of you, read on…

“Farewell, good thief,” he said. “I go now to the halls of waiting to sit beside my fathers, until the world is renewed. Since I leave now all gold and silver, and go where it is of little worth, I wish to part in friendship from you, and I would take back my words and deeds at the Gate.”

J. R. R. Tolkein, The Hobbit

True to Tolkein’s Christian worldview, Thorin has a resurrection hope as he dies from wounds sustained in battle. He knows that his wealth will do him no good after death, but he also knows that death is not the end. It is merely a sleep, waiting until the world is made new again.

Then I saw “a new heaven and a new earth,” for the first heaven and the first earth had passed away.

Revelation 20:1

Join the conversation

