…gives us wings

For the last week or so I’ve been reading The Discipline of Grace by Jerry Bridges, which forms part of my preparation for Relay. I think it’s about the 20th book I’ve read so far this year, and with the possible exception of The Cross of Christ it is the best of them all. I highly recommend it to any Christian who hasn’t already read it, something I’d say about very few books. In it I came across a nice rhyme which, although I had heard before, I’d forgotten:

Run, John, run, the law commands
But gives us neither feet nor hands.
Far better news the gospel brings:
It bids us fly and gives us wings.

Attributed to John Bunyan

Join the conversation

