Spotify unlimited

Today I bought something I never expected to buy – a subscription to Spotify.

I didn’t go for the full premium version. Instead I went for the atrociously named Spotify unlimited, which at £4.99 per month is the same as the free version but with no adverts. I don’t get other bells and whistles like offline and mobile listening, just unlimited listening on my desktop computer. Do I think this is good value for money, paying a fiver every month to remove a few short adverts? To be honest, no, I don’t. But I do appreciate the product which Spotify give me, and I’d rather pay them than not have it. Spotify is a young business, and it isn’t exactly floating in cash. In the words of someone very dear to me, the labourer is worthy of his wages. I’ve been making heavy use of Spotify for quite a while, and it seems fair for me to pay for what I take.

If you want Spotify but can’t get it because you don’t know anyone with premium to invite you, you can now try Spotify open. This gives you 20 hours of listening per month with adverts so you can get a taster of the product.

If you want to compare the different versions of Spotify, there is a handy comparison table available.

2 comments

Join the conversation

